UIW’s Gabriel Evans Earns Southland Men’s Tennis Player, Newcomer Honors

first_imgFRISCO, Texas – UIW’s Gabriel Evans is the 2018 Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Player of the Year, the league announced Wednesday with its all-conference teams. All yearly awards are presented by Ready Nutrition. Player of the Year: Gabriel Evans, UIWFreshman of the Year: Kyoehei Yamanaka, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNewcomer of the Year: Gabriel Evans, UIWCoach of the Year: Jonas Andersson, UIW UIW’s Jonas Andersson is the Coach of the Year after leading the Cardinals to a 5-0 Southland record. In his first season at the helm, the UIW Hall of Fame inductee won the Southland regular season championship and sends his squad to the Southland Tournament in the team’s first season eligible for postseason since transitioning to Division I. Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s Kyohei Yamanaka collects the Freshman of the Year award after winning each of his singles matches in the conference season, tallying a 4-0 record at the No. 6 flight and going 1-0 up a slot. He claimed a spot on the first team. Second-Team SinglesNo. 1 Josh Sheehy, Abilene ChristianNo. 2 Jon Sheehy, Abilene ChristianNo. 3 Niko Moceanu, Abilene ChristianNo. 4 Henry Adams, Abilene ChristianNo. 5 Ivanhoe Lissanevitch, UIWNo. 6 Caleb Dyer, UIW First-Team SinglesNo. 1 Gabriel Evans, UIWNo. 2 Francisco Bendana, UIWNo. 3 Sebastian Mortier, UIWNo. 4 Joey Vantanadilok, UIWNo. 5 Nicolas Mayr, LamarNo. 6 Kyoehei Yamanaka, Texas A&M-Corpus Christi Evans helped the Cardinals win their first Southland championship in any sport and secure the No. 1 seed in the 2018 Southland Conference Tennis Tournament in Beaumont, Texas, this weekend. The junior transfer from Laredo Community College is also the Newcomer of the Year and first-time all-conference at No. 1 singles and doubles. The hometown native of San Antonio was undefeated in league play, taking four singles wins at the top flight and a victory at the No. 2 slot in his first career Southland match on top of four doubles wins and one match left unfinished. Evans surrendered just two sets in conference play. First-Team DoublesNo. 1 G. Evans/S. Mortier, UIWNo. 2 F. Kellerman, O. Kellerman, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 3 C. Dyer/I. Lissanevitch, UIWcenter_img 2018 All-Southland Conference Men’s Tennis Teams and Individual Awards The duo of Evans and Mortier was voted first team doubles at the top slot while Texas A&M-Corpus Christi’s doubles pair of Okkie and Francois Kellerman scored a spot on the first team at No. 2. Lissanevitch and Dyer are the No. 3 doubles first team selections. Second-Team DoublesNo. 1 W. Mottet/T. Rodrigues, Texas A&M-Corpus ChristiNo. 2 F. Bendana, J. Vatanadilok, UIWNo. 3 N. Mayr/R. Stepanov, Lamar Abilene Christian received four second-team members in order from the top flight down. The brother pair of Josh and John Sheehy took the top two slots while teammates Niko Monaceau and Henry Adams obtained the latter two. UIW swept the No. 1-4 singles positions on the first team with Francisco Bendana, Sebastian Mortier and Joey Vantadilok joining Evans on the squad. Their other two singles players, Ivanhoe Lissanevitch and Caleb Dyer, are second team picks. Lamar’s Nicolas Mayr rounded out the top team with a selection at the No. 5 flight. First serve of the 2018 Southland Men’s Tennis Tournament is set for 10 a.m. CT Saturday at the Beaumont Municipal Tennis Center in Beaumont, Texas. The championship match has a 10 a.m. start for Sunday. More information can be found by visiting the tournament homepage.last_img read more