South Africa go with 3 specialist spinners for India Tests

first_imgSouth Africa recalled Dane Piedt and Imran Tahir on Thursday as the top-ranked Proteas selected three specialist spinners for their Test series in India.Piedt and Tahir join Simon Harmer as the spinners in the Test squad, while wicketkeeper Dane Vilas was retained after making his debut against Bangladesh in July.Quinton de Kock was only named in the one-day and Twenty20 squads for the two-month India tour after being dropped as the Test wicketkeeper.The Twenty20 series stats on Oct. 2, followed by the ODIs that begin on Oct. 11. The first Test will be played in Mohali from Nov. 5.Also read: Kevin Pietersen to play in South Africa for Dolphins Faf du Plessis has recovered from injury to be included in all three squads. Batsman Khaya Zondo could make his international debut after being selected for the T20s.Offspinner Piedt has played just one Test, in Zimbabwe last year, but was included for what will likely be slow bowler-friendly pitches in India. Legspinner Tahir played the last of his 16 tests late last year.Otherwise, South Africa’s Test squad was unchanged under the captaincy of Hashim Amla, with young batsman Temba Bavuma and quick bowler Kagiso Rabada retained following the drawn series in Bangladesh, when rain prevented a result in both tests.South Africa has lost just two Test series in the last nine years, both at home to Australia. The last time South Africa lost away was in Sri Lanka in 2006.Test squad: Hashim Amla (captain), Temba Bavuma, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Dean Elgar, Simon Harmer, Imran Tahir, Morne Morkel, Vernon Philander, Dane Piedt, Kagiso Rabada, Dale Steyn, Stiaan van Zyl, Dane Vilas.advertisementODI squad: AB de Villiers (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, JP Duminy, Faf du Plessis, Imran Tahir, David Miller, Morne Morkel, Chris Morris, Aaron Phangiso, Kagiso Rabada, Rilee Rossouw, Dale Steyn.Twenty20 squad: Faf du Plessis (captain), Kyle Abbott, Hashim Amla, Farhaan Behardien, Quinton de Kock, Marchant de Lange, AB de Villiers, JP Duminy, Imran Tahir, Eddie Leie, David Miller, Chris Morris, Kagiso Rabada, David Wiese, Khaya Zondo.last_img read more